CHAKRAS / KUNDALINI : An Overview - The Balancing Factor

The Seven Chakras

Chakras are believed to play an important role in physical, mental and emotional health, and in spiritual development. They are invisible to ordinary sight, but clairvoyants describe them as small depressions in the bodies of spiritually undeveloped persons, but as larger coruscating and blazing whirlpools in more highly developed individuals.

The seven most accepted chakras are the base of the spine, a spot just below the navel, the solar plexus, the heart, the throat, the brow, and the top of the head. There are three others, located in the lower pelvis; these are not used except in black magic.

The following is a general summary of the physical locations and elements associated with each chakra. Over the years it has been noticed some minor discrepancies between how different people "define" each chakra, (particularly the second & third chakras) but the differences have only been minor. Certainly the colors and locations of the chakras have always been consistent. The base chakra extends down and the crown chakra extends up...the chakras in between have vortexes both to the front of the body and to the back.

The first chakra is located at the base of the spine and is associated with red. It is the chakra that governs our physical existence, our bodies and our health.

The second chakra is located in the area of the womb (or thereabouts for men) and is associated with the color orange. This chakra governs creativity, and some say emotion. (I associate emotion with the heart chakra).

The third chakra is located at the solar plexus and is associated with the color gold (yellow). It is associated with the will or desire.

The fourth chakra (the middle chakra in the chain of seven) is the heart chakra and is associated with the color green, and also the color rose, which is the "color of love." This chakra is connected with emotion and human love.

The fifth chakra is located at the throat and is a bright blue. It governs communication and personal magnetism. It is the chakra that most influences intercommunication and our "personas." It is also the link between emotion and thought.

The sixth chakra is located at the third eye (mid-forehead) and is indigo (deep purply/blue). This chakra is associated with thought (though some say the third chakra governs thought) and with vision, particularly psychic vision. It is also the chakra of spiritual love and connection.

The seventh chakra is at the crown of the head, and is violet fading to white further away from the body. This chakra is our connection to our "higher selves" and to the "divine." It is associated with wisdom and integration of our eternal selves with our current physical selves. It is like our umbilical cord to "God."

When all the chakras are "whirling," open, bright and clean, then our chakra system is balanced. When a chakra becomes blocked, damaged, or disturbed with residual energy, then our physical and emotional health can be affected. Often this occurs habitually as the result of negative or incomplete belief systems. The effects of our habits, feelings, beliefs, thoughts, fears and desires can be found in our chakras.

For example, if we eat poorly (alot of processed food, for instance) and don't exercise, chances are your root (red) chakra is going to become sluggish, darkened and dull. If we "close off" our emotions because they're painful or overwhelming, your heart chakra is likely to become tight and closed and block emotional energy.

If we, on the other hand, are extremely centered in your intellect, we may have a bulging and bright third eye chakra but a disproportionately small heart chakra or root chakra or womb chakra. Or perhaps the cerebrally focused on finding answers to deep questions about "reality." (as I was for a while).

The goal is a strong, clear, balanced energy system. The more open, clear and balanced the chakras, the more energy can flow through your system. This energy is essential for vitality, health, and continued growth on all levels.

( Ref: I was inspired by many eminent re-searchers to compile this article on CHAKRAS )

Views: 13


You need to be a member of to add comments!


Comment by AK on November 27, 2008 at 3:18am
YOU are too kind

Comment by AK on November 13, 2008 at 11:15pm
If you can be little more specific , I will like to provide very specific answer. I also welcome you as a Fellow Healer, and it is always a privilege to assist a Friend !!


Comment by Sinikka on November 13, 2008 at 11:05pm
I'm working as a healer and using chakras with archangels.. that's why I'm interested. I've used chakra between heart and solarplexus, calling it as Christ-point. And always asking pure white light to heal that point/chakra. I have heard about this thymus also but haven't exactly thought about it more. Perhaps I should think more about it..when people need to move ahead from old energies. Many are stucked to one point in their lives and it may take many years. Of course everyone chooses themselves how to take new steps in life. But this might help them.
You may tell more about it.. ;) Please <3<3<3
Comment by AK on November 13, 2008 at 10:47am
Hello Sinikka

Thymus: What does this mean to me !!!!!

Hummmmm - Interesting , seems I have been put on a TEST , my dear friend !! I think I can write a detailed article on Thymus.., however, I like Friends who are inquisitive and seek answers.

THYMUS responds very well while HEALING THRU SOUND, though the MIND , BODY and SPIRIT needs a peaceful , soothing SOUND to create a space which can help moving ahead.

Our Expression – Confidence and Power of Speech is connected to THYMUS.

I will be glad to write more on it, if you help me understand what exactly you want to know from me …
Comment by Sinikka on November 13, 2008 at 10:06am
Tell me about Thymus. What does it mean to you?
Comment by Michelle on November 8, 2008 at 4:22am
Thanks Ak, have you come across any good chakra balancing yoga flows? I've got a few, but they seem clumsy in transition. Thanks for sharing!
Comment by AK on October 28, 2008 at 4:05am

Well, you just need to practice LOM / VILOM Breathing and then start meditation, you will have amazing experiences. I will be glad to share some more tips if you want.



Latest Activity

© 2020   Created by David Califa. Managed by Eyal Raviv.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service